What Are the Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in California?
No matter which state you live in, it is illegal to drive without car insurance in the United States — including California.
California Laws require a minimum amount of insurance coverage for each vehicle on our roadways to protect not only the driver but other drivers and their passengers traveling alongside on our busy streets and highways.
At the Binder Law Group, PLC, our San Fernando Valley & Encino personal injury lawyers know that drivers traveling without insurance are doing more than breaking the law. They are posing a serious risk to other drivers and their ability to financially recover when an accident with the uninsured occurs.
If you have been involved in a traffic collision with a negligent driver, our San Fernando Valley car accident attorneys will outline the legal solutions required to hold them accountable for your damages.
California’s Minimum Car Insurance Coverage Requirements
All California drivers must carry car insurance coverage on each of their vehicles unless they choose the alternative of obtaining proof of financial responsibility in the form of a surety bond for $35,000 from a licensed business in California.
Otherwise, all drivers in the state must carry the minimum amount of insurance coverage, which includes:
- $5,000 property damage liability coverage
- $15,000 per person for bodily injury liability coverage
- $30,000 per accident for bodily injury liability coverage
Driving without car insurance comes with serious consequences, even when an accident does not occur.
What Are the Legal Consequences of Driving Without Car Insurance in California?
California is an at-fault state, which means the person who is found to be liable for the accident must cover the damages of any injured parties that were hurt in the crash. This liability is typically covered by the insurance company, and the costs can become a financial nightmare for those who decide to drive without coverage.
Even when an accident does not occur, California laws list the following consequences for uninsured drivers:
- $100 fine, plus added fees and penalty assessments for first offenses
- Fines up to $500 for second offenses, plus added fees and penalty assessments if the offense occurs within three years of the initial penalty
What’s more, is your driver’s license may be suspended, your vehicle may be impounded, and you may be held personally liable for the injuries and property damage costs when you are proven to be at fault.
What Can I Do If An Uninsured Driver Caused My California Car Accident Injuries?
When the at-fault party is uninsured, he or she is still personally liable for all damages, including:
- Medical costs
- Damage to public property
- Other third-party costs associated with the crash
Even though the uninsured driver may be liable for the overall damages, it is going to be difficult to hold them accountable for the financial fallout without an experienced personal injury attorney by your side.
Our San Fernando Valley & Encino car accident lawyers will pursue the uninsured driver for your complete financial compensation or explore your insurance policy for its uninsured motorist coverage, so you can get the financial help you need to fully recover.
If you have been hurt in a car accident with a negligent driver, including one who does not have insurance, contact our San Fernando Valley & Encino Personal injury attorneys at the Binder Law Group, PLC today by calling (888) 818-5299 to schedule a free consultation with our skilled and experienced lawyers to discover the legal solutions you deserve to pursue financial recovery.